Finding Motivation to Workout

I haven’t exercised since I got back from Ragnar. I have been giving my body time to recover from running and from the flu bug I got. As of yesterday I feel back to 90% so I MUST stop making excuses and get back to my workout routine. I don’t know about the rest of you but I often have days when I just don’t want to lace up my shoes and go workout. In honor of my lack luster desire to go to the gym this morning, I’ve decided to compile a list of things that help me get my workout in when I really don’t want to.

1. If you workout in the morning, get up and immediately put on your gym clothes. I find that if I have my clothes on I am much less likely to skip a sweat session since I’m already dressed for it.

IMG_4410

2. Download some new music or a podcast to your MP3 player. I get really excited to listen to my favorite podcasts, but I only allow myself to listen to them while I’m working out. This motivates me to get to the gym or out for a run so I can listen!

(source)

3. Make a goal. The goal needs to be very specific. I was much better about getting all my workouts in while I was training for my half marathon. My goal was to run (without walking) a half marathon on October 13, 2012. I was REALLY excited about my goal and don’t think I skipped a single workout during my training. If you have never done a race before, I highly suggest finding a local 5k and signing up. Races are tons of fun and a great way to get outside with others who care about their health and fitness.

IMG_4752

4. Workout with a friend. Working out with friends is not only fun but it holds you accountable to be there when you said you would.  You are much more likely to stick to a workout program if you have a partner to join you.

(source)

5. Join in on a group class at the gym. This is usually my go-to tip when I don’t feel like exercising. Group classes are SO fun. Zumba, kickboxing, Bodypump, yoga, barre, spinning, etc. There are TONS of classes to chose from and they are great motivation to work a little harder since I generally don’t want to look like a chump in front of a bunch of people!

(source)

6. Find an image that motivates you to stick to your goals and put it somewhere you will see it. I had an image of a woman crossing the finish line of a race on my bathroom mirror. I couldn’t dream of skipping a workout when I looked at that image. I REALLY wanted to be like the girl in the picture and the only way to get there was to tie up my shoe laces and go run.

(source)

7. When all else fails and you STILL don’t feel like working out skip it do it anyway! Sometimes it is a matter of sheer willpower. In the words of Nike, “Just Do It!” Don’t think about it, just get out the door and do it. I would bet that once you get 15-20 minutes into your workout, you’ll be feeling good and working hard. The hardest part about exercise is starting. It’s all downhill from there. I have had many days when I didn’t want to run or go to the gym but I have NEVER once regretted a workout.

So what are you waiting for? Lace up those shoes and start sweating!

4 thoughts on “Finding Motivation to Workout

  1. I love these tips! One thing that has helped me a ton is I stopped listening to secular music except when I’m running/working out. I want to keep my ‘diet’ of secular music in check with my ‘diet’ of Christian/uplifting music, so this has been a great way to do that. If I want to listen to some of my favorite secular songs, I have to lace up and get my sweat on! Helps SOO much!

  2. You have the right idea here. I write about this a lot. Sometimes it is hard to go out there, and do your thing. We all have influences on our fitness that negatively impact our productivity. Personally, I just try to look at all the positives in my life, and my lifestyle, and remember that when I need to get out the door. Everyday we, as amateur athletes, do things that a vast majority of the population wishes they could do. It would be a shame to let that all go to waste.

Show me some comment love!

