Eat Like You Mean It

I saw a billboard that looked very similar to this photo during my preschool drop off this morning.

(source)

This photo makes me sick to my stomach just by looking at it. I couldn’t help but  think the caption should have said, “eat like you want to die a premature death.”

I try not to make a habit of eating fast food. I can’t say I never eat at these chains but if it is in any way, shape, or form possible to eat somewhere else, I do. I can see how easy it would be to fall into the fast food trap. You’ve had a long day, you are tired and hungry, the kids are in the back seat screaming for food and you happen to drive past those yellow arches on your way home. Without even getting out of the car you could have dinner ready in less than 10 minutes. I get it. We are all busy and many of us (namely me) don’t like to cook or we feel there is not enough time in the day to make healthy meals.

IMG_5012IMG_4699

Don’t these photos look much more appetizing than the nasty, sloppy, processed junk in the first photo?

I have plenty of days when I just don’t feel like cooking. The thing that motivates me to get in the kitchen and make something is thinking about all the CRAP that goes into fast food. This is a list of ingredients that is in JUST the bun and sauce of a big mac: Big Mac Bun: Enriched flour (bleached wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, high fructose corn syrup and/or sugar, soybean oil and/or canola oil, contains 2% or less of the following: salt, calcium sulfate, calcium carbonate, wheat gluten, ammonium sulfate, ammonium chloride, dough conditioners (may contain one or more of the following: sodium stearoyl lactylate, datem, ascorbic acid, azodicarbonamide, mono- and diglycerides, ethoxylated monoglycerides, monocalcium phosphate, enzymes, guar gum, calcium peroxide), calcium propionate and/or sodium propionate (preservatives), soy lecithin, sesame seed. Big Mac Sauce: Soybean oil, pickle relish [diced pickles, high fructose corn syrup, sugar, vinegar, corn syrup, salt, calcium chloride, xanthan gum, potassium sorbate (preservative), spice extractives, polysorbate 80], distilled vinegar, water, egg yolks, high fructose corn syrup, onion powder, mustard seed, salt, spices, propylene glycol alginate,sodium benzoate (preservative), mustard bran, sugar, garlic powder.

I don’t know about you but I can’t even begin to pronounce about 90% of the items on that list. I find it best to stick to food items that either DON’T have a food label at all (i.e. fruits, veggies, fresh meats) or foods with less than 5 ingredients on the label. I promise if you skip the fast food in favor of a nice home cooked meal, you will FEEL so much better.

IMG_5106

I often look at this cute little face and I can’t imagine polluting his pure little body with fast food! The Journal of the American Dietetic Association says, “French fries are the most common type of vegetable children eat. Fries account for about one-quarter of children’s vegetable intake.” Thank you fast food chains. NOT.

Let me clarify, I am in NO WAY claiming to be perfect, and yes, my children have eaten French fries from fast food chains. I am merely trying to bring awareness to my readers.

My number one tip for making time to eat healthy meals at home is: PLAN AHEAD. Make a meal plan and grocery list at the beginning of the week and stick to it. Make some muffins, a big salad, and cut up all your fruits and veggies on the weekend when you have a few extra minutes. Bake a big batch of chicken or throw it in the crock pot on Sunday so it is ready to eat during the week when you’re short on time.

Make you and your family’s health a priority. Challenge: Between now and Thanksgiving DON’T eat ANY fast food. You can do it!

7 thoughts on “Eat Like You Mean It

  1. When you cook up your chicken, what do you do and do you season it at all? I REALLY need to stop getting fast food…

    • Hey Emily, I usually sprinkle a little garlic powder, onion powder, and season salt on it. I bake it in the oven at 375* for 25-45 minutes depending on the size of the chicken. I have also used the crock pot and just poured some chicken broth over the top. This make shredded chicken for enchiladas, salads, and wraps. Hope this helps!

  2. I agree! Fast food is soo convenient. Planning ahead has saved me SO many times from having to get fast food. It’s so awful for our bodies– even the ‘healthy’ options like the salads and soups are LOADED with sodium, fats etc…
    SO grateful that we live in a country where healthy food is available, and abundant, if we just choose it.

  3. Why in the world would I want to stop eating fast food? It’s delicious, nutritious, and inexpensive! We are in recession … in fact, it’s time to INVEST in fast food companies.

Show me some comment love!

