Ragnar In The Making

Ragnar Las Vegas started yesterday morning at 7:30am and we have about 10 hours till we finish. Or those of you who don’t know, Ragnar is a 197 mile relay. our team has 12 girls and we separate into 2 different vans. while the other van is running we can stop and pitch a tent to sleep for a few hours till its our turn to run again.
The girls in my van have been so much fun! My first 2 legs were awesome and I’ve been averaging 8:20 miles. In Ragnar when you pass someone it’s called road kill and the teams tally their total number.

20121110-071603.jpg
I was super pumped before my first run but I was immediately humbled by a steep incline and 30 mph headwind. Luckily the last 3 miles of my 4 mile run were downhill and with the wind. My last two miles were 7:42 and I don’t think I’ve ever run that fast! It was SO fun and I ended with a huge endorphin rush. I was ready for more!

20121110-072759.jpg
We made a pit stop at Chili’s around 7pm to grab some real food before heading back to our hotel to catch a couple hours of sleep before our night runs.

20121110-073144.jpg
My night run was 3.5 miles straight uphill and it began at 3:30am. It was such an awesome experience to be running on a deserted road in the middle of the night. It was one of my favorite runs of all time!

20121110-074048.jpg
We have a few hours to kill before heading back to run our last leg. There’s nothing better than trying to sleep in a suburban with 5 other people. Sweet dreams!

6 thoughts on “Ragnar In The Making

  1. AMAZING!!! An experience you will never forget. I’m so happy for you. I can’t wait to hear all the details.

Show me some comment love!

