Sunday’s Eats

Good Morning and Happy What I ate Wednesday. A big thanks to Jen from Peas and Crayons fro doing such a great job hosting WIAW!

It really just plain sucks having an injury and not being able to do my normal workout routine. The good news is I have zero pain this morning and I’m pretty confident I’ll be back to normal by tomorrow. This will be just in the knick of time because I have a huge, super exciting announcement to make this afternoon!!!  Luckily the awesome news has kept my mind busy the past 2 days and I haven’t dwelled on the fact that I couldn’t run!

IMG_4366

I made some No-Bake Cookies last night and I ate one for breakfast this morning. I find that when I’m not working out I have a harder time eating clean. I feel like the 2 things go hand in hand and when 1 isn’t working out I just throw the other out the window. I’ve got to figure out a way to change this way of thinking. Eating and nutrition is 80% of the healthy living battle. Eating plays a much bigger role in weight management and overall health than exercise. I’m absolutely not telling you forget about working out; we NEED both good nutrition and exercise to be healthy. What I am saying is, even if I’m out of the exercise game for a period of time, eating clean will keep my body healthy and help to get it right back to its previous level of fitness when I can return to my normal workouts!

Okay tangent over! Back to WIAW. I’m going to share everything I ate on Sunday. Don’t know why I chose Sunday, it just seemed like a good day!

IMG_5077

We started the morning with some delicious whole wheat waffles and strawberries. I went very simple that morning and just topped my waffles with plain old maple syrup. YUM!

IMG_5085

I should know by now, I need a bit of protein and fat in the morning to keep me full. 2 hours after breakfast, I was hungry again. I had a sliced green bell pepper dipped in hummus.

IMG_5086

Kelly did the grocery shopping last week when I was feeling under the weather. I put quinoa on the list and he came home with pasta made from corn and quinoa. Smile In his defense, the boxes look very similar. I made my Apple Chicken Pasta Skillet for lunch and it really hit the spot. You can see the steam coming out of the bowl. I was too hungry to wait for the steam to stop before I took the picture! The great thing about this recipe is you can use whatever veggies you have on hand! This time I used bell pepper, mushrooms, onion, and corn.

IMG_5087

After church on Sunday we came home and made some pork chops with brown rice and green beans. This is a childhood favorite for Kelly and we hadn’t made it in at least a few months. It tasted really good.

IMG_5088

I finished out the day with the other half of my chocolate dome from Saturday’s adventures!

I have tons to do today to prepare for my big news! Everett and I are going to drop Dax off at Preschool and then head to Wal-mart to pick up some supplies. Be sure to check back in this afternoon to read the BIG NEWS!!!

6 thoughts on “Sunday’s Eats

  1. Mmmmmm, no-bake cookies are the 1st thing I learned to make as a little girl & still love them to this day! It’s everything I love in one ball. Congrats on no pain this morning!

Show me some comment love!

