Running Faster

We had a rough night last night. Poor Dax was really not feeling well and couldn’t fall asleep until 3:30AM. Then he woke up again at 4:30 and told me he wanted to wake up and watch Mickey Mouse! Smile I finally coaxed him back to sleep but when Everett woke up at 6:30, I was NOT ready to get out of bed. I gave him a cup of milk and some cheerios and sat him in front of some cartoons so I could sleep on the couch.

IMG_4859

I had to make a choice this morning; it was either go for a run or write a blog post. I chose to go for a run and I’m so glad I did. I didn’t have a lot of time so I was only planning on running 3 miles. I did 3 miles at 5K race pace and it felt SO good. My race pace is only 8:35 min./mile but I ended up doing 8:20 min./mile! I’ve really been trying to work on running faster but since I’ve been running with the stroller a lot I’ve actually been going slower than normal. I think my training runs with the stroller are actually making me faster since when I ditched the stroller this morning I ran faster than ever before. My run this morning got me really excited to keep working on my pace and improving.

photo

I was hired as a server at a local restaurant a few weeks ago but the place is still under construction. We are less than a week away from opening and there is still a lot to be done. The owners have asked to employees to come in and help with painting and cleaning. After my run this morning I headed over to the restaurant and painted for a few hours. I got to use one of those long paint sticks and it was actually kind of fun! I listened to a few podcasts and before I knew it, it was time to head home for lunch.

IMG_0008

I made a flat bread pizza with some apple chicken sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, red onion, green pepper, and a sprinkling of cheese. This pizza was delicious and all the veggies on it really helped with my new 3-4 veggies a day goal!

After lunch I was able to get a short nap which has REALLY helped my energy levels. I’m going all out for dinner tonight and making mashed potatoes and gravy, roasted broccoli, and baked chicken. Better get cooking!

2 thoughts on “Running Faster

Show me some comment love!

