Trick-or-Treat and Sick Kids

Unfortunately Dax started spiking a fever around 4:00 yesterday afternoon.  Then he started telling me his mouth hurt. When I asked him to show me where it hurts he pointed to the back of his mouth by his throat. I feel really bad when my kids get sick but it is so nice that he is finally at an age where he can TELL me what is wrong.  It sure beats trying to guess!

We outfitted Dax with some essential oils and Ibuprofen in hopes that he would feel well enough to go trick-or-treating. Kelly picked up a pizza on his way home from school. Pizza has become a bit of a Halloween tradition for us. I also made a side salad to go with our pizza but neither of us were really in the mood for salad and they ended up back in the fridge.

photo (28)

I did have a few veggies on my pizza so I don’t feel too bad about skipping the salad!

Dax perked up a bit after dinner and was ready to put his pirate costume back on. He didn’t really understand what trick-or-treating was all about but he was excited to try it out!

IMG_5031

Our pirate and buzzing bee were excited to go collect some candy!

IMG_5044

Since Dax wasn’t feeling well we went out early to collect our candy, in broad daylight! It was a bit slow going at first since a lot of people weren’t home. After a few houses Dax was getting the hang of things and he was REALLY excited. He would knock on the door, say trick-or-treat, and stick his bucket out to collect his candy. Then he would look up and us with HUGE eyes and say, “lets go to the next house!”

IMG_5065

We went to about 15 houses before heading home to watch a movie and hand out candy. Our neighborhood has TONS of kids and we passed out 5 bags of candy! I made sure to give away every last bit of candy we bought because it’s too hard to have chocolate in the house and NOT eat it. Don’t worry I ate my fair share of candy last night which is exactly why I had to get rid of it!

Dax got another fever of 103* last night around midnight. He seems to be a bit better this morning but I’m going to keep him home and let him rest today. I was planning on heading to the gym for spinning and yoga this morning but since Dax can’t go to the kid’s club I’ll have to come up with something else.

I hope everyone had a safe and Happy Halloween!

4 thoughts on “Trick-or-Treat and Sick Kids

Show me some comment love!

