The Holidays Are Upon Us

I was really happy to be able to get my workout in this morning. I wasn’t sure how it would work since I couldn’t go to the gym due to the kids being sick. I did a circuit workout from Shape Magazine that used just my body weight and a wall. It was a series of exercises like a plank but with my feet on the wall instead of feet on the ground. In between each exercise I did 1 minute of high intensity cardio like squat jumps and high knees. Using the wall to do basic exercises really upped the intensity and I was dripping in sweat at the end of 50 minutes.

I had a late breakfast so when lunch time rolled around I wasn’t very hungry. I had to work from 1-5 today so I knew I needed to eat something or I would not make it through my shift.

photo (29)photo (30)

I decided on a bell pepper dipped in hummus and a side of plain Greek yogurt with strawberries and granola.

I got through work and when I got home poor Dax was laying on the couch and he was burning up. Ibuprofen seems to help but he can only take the medicine every 6 hours; it’s during hour 5 that he seems to have a hard time. Also, I have completely lost my voice. I’m feeling much better but the vocal cords just aren’t working. Not being able to talk is REALLY annoying.

I can’t believe it’s November already. That means the Holiday Season is upon us (I can start listening to Christmas music) and I’m SO excited.  I love Thanksgiving and Christmas and I especially love living in a place where it snows for these holidays. There is something about snow that really puts me in a jolly mood!

Martha Stewart

We are going to be spending Christmas at our house for the first time since getting married. We usually go to one of our parents houses but decided to spend Christmas in our own home, just the 4 of us. I am so excited to get a tree and decorate our house. It’s going to be a great season if we can just avoid getting sick. Last Christmas we weren’t so lucky.

Dax didn’t get the memo that we can’t start celebrating Christmas till November. He wore these PJ’s a week ago!

The Holidays can be quite unhealthy with all the treats and decadent foods being served. I have decided for the month of November I’m going to focus on getting my fruits and veggies. My goal for the month is to eat 2-3 fruits and 3-4 veggies everyday. I figure if I’m eating this many fruits and vegetables I can enjoy the occasional slice of pie and a nice serving of stuffing. Oh how I LOVE stuffing!


What is your favorite dish served at Thanksgiving dinner?

One thought on “The Holidays Are Upon Us

Show me some comment love!

