Spinning and Painted Nails

When I first started training for my half marathon I went to a spin class once a week for cross training. Somewhere along the way I dropped spinning in favor of adding a 5th run to my weekly schedule. I’m not really sure why I did that but I was excited to get back into spinning today.

(source)

(My iPhone broke a few weeks ago so I’ve had to resort to Google images for a lot of photos since I don’t want to lug my DSLR everywhere with me!)

I forgot how much I like taking spin classes.  I went to a class with a new-to-me instructor and she was fabulous. She helped me correct my seat height on the bike and gave us a great workout without going crazy! Since I have not been on a bike for quite some time my butt was hurting and was quite happy when the hour was up and it was time to get off. My sore backside is a good reason to keep going back to class to build up a tolerance again.

IMG_4867IMG_4869

Dax was so excited about the snow this morning he was begging Kelly to go outside to “move the snow!” He says “move the snow” instead of shovel the snow. They had a great time being outside in the snow and Dax cried when he had to come in. Smile

While watching the debate/Giants game last night I got the brilliant idea to paint my fingers and toes!  I haven’t had painted fingernails since I was a bridesmaid in a wedding nearly 6 months ago. All the running I’ve been doing has really done a number on my feet. I’ve given up on them and succumb to the fact that they are a lost cause. Gone are the days of pretty feet. I have huge callouses on nearly on my toes and one of my toenails is dead and completely black. I’m just waiting for it to fall off.  In the meantime I decided a nice coat of paint would do them good. It took 4 coats to cover my black toenail but I have to say, they do look much better with nail polish. If you were to look closely it would not be a pretty sight but from afar, they’re not half bad!

“Do you think she’s pretty?”
”No, she’s a full-on Monet.”
”What’s a Monet?”
”It’s like a painting, see? From far away, it’s OK, but up close, it’s a big old mess.”

(Name that 90’s classic movie!) HINT: Brittany Murphy is in it.

IMG_4871

I’ve been staring at my fingers all day because they look so pretty.  This got me thinking. Why don’t I do things like this more often? The simple act of painting my fingernails has made me feel so feminine and put together. Even while I was in my gym clothes with no makeup on I still felt good about myself because my nails looked pretty. It’s pretty silly when you think about it but it did change my attitude.

I have also noticed on the days when I take the time to do something special with my hair or wear eye shadow (I usually wear mascara only) I have more confidence. I also tend to be more productive throughout my day when I get ready and put on something other than gym clothes. I’ve been thinking a lot lately that this is something I need to work on. It can be easy to be lazy and rock that “I-just-came-from-the-beach” look but I want to try harder to put on real clothes and do my hair and makeup everyday.

I know so many healthy living bloggers out there work really hard to exercise and eat well. We need to celebrate that by taking care of our outer appearance too!

New Goal: I will get dressed and do some sort of hair and makeup everyday for 2 weeks!

Who’s with me?!?!

5 thoughts on “Spinning and Painted Nails

  1. yeah, i used to be so proud of my cute little toes……..i now refuse to leave the house without socks on!! and will never take them off!!
    I always wear earring when I work out or go running. not huge, just something small and lightweight! 🙂

Show me some comment love!

