Weekly workout plan and Apple Cinnamon Bran Muffins

I have not laid out a weekly workout plan since I finished my half marathon. When I was training I wrote out exactly what I was going to do every day for 12 weeks, including strength training and yoga. Of course, I’ve still been getting my sweat on everyday but with less direction.  When I don’t have a plan and I just sort of “wing it”, my workouts suffer.  I am ready to get back at and I’m ready to sweat till it drips into my eyes! I found a great lower body workout in the November issue of Self Magazine that uses a wall for all the moves.  I’ll let you know how I like it.

Monday- Self Magazine Wall Strength workout, 5 miles (include a few sprints)

Tuesday – spin class, yoga

Wednesday – 6-7 miles

Thursday – core interval class @ gym, yoga

Friday – 4 mile tempo run

Saturday – Self Magazine Wall Strength Workout , 10 miles

I’m excited to get started with my new workout plan this week and I will begin as soon as I drop Dax off at preschool this morning.

I have another great muffin recipe for you to try. I bought some wheat bran a few weeks back and have been wanting to experiment with it. I used the recipe on the back of my Bob’s Red Mill wheat bran as a base and went to town from there.

Apple Cinnamon Bran Muffins

Adapted from Bob’s Red Mill Moist Molasses Bran Muffins

IMG_4716

  • 1 cup Wheat Bran
  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 apple, dliced
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 cup milk (I used almond)
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)
  • 2 tbsp. coconut oil, melted
  • 2 eggs, beaten

Preheat oven to 400. Combine wheat bran, flour, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. Stir in apple and nuts. In a separate bowl combine milk, maple syrup, honey, applesauce, and oil. Add eggs one at a time beating well after each addition. Add to dry ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon until just combined. Do not over mix! Spoon into paper muffin cups and bake for 15-20 minutes. Makes 12 scrumptious muffins.

IMG_4720

I really liked these muffins. I made a double batch and froze half of them! They are chock full of fiber and will keep you full for hours.

And just because… When I got up this morning I came out to find Everett lounging on a pillow drinking his milk. SO cute!

IMG_4859


What are you going to do for exercise today?

3 thoughts on “Weekly workout plan and Apple Cinnamon Bran Muffins

  1. Looks like a fun week of workouts. Looking forward to getting my Self magazine this month! My workouts this week will include my first physical therapy appointment for my hip so hopefully actually working out will follow that.

Show me some comment love!

