Dinner and an Almond Banana Protein Shake

It feels like Friday night because Kelly came home from work early today.  We weren’t expecting him until tonight and he surprised us and walked in the door as the boys were finishing up their lunch. It is Fall break at the University so his boss was gone and he ran out of papers to grade.  We were SO excited to see him!

I have been really tired today so I decided to nap with the kids.  I ended up sleeping for 2.5 hours!  Looks like I’ll be going to bed late tonight. Kelly has the day off tomorrow…3 day weekend!  We’ve got big plans.  Things like laundry and shopping for Halloween costumes!  Dax want to be a pirate so hopefully we can find something.

When I got home from yoga I was starving so I made a quick protein shake. It ended up being AWESOME. The boys loved it too.

Almond Banana Protein Shake

Serves 2

IMG_4817

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp. ground flax seeds
  • 1 tbsp. almond butter
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract (optional)
  • 8 ice cubes

Throw everything in the blend and blend 2-3 minutes until smooth and creamy.

IMG_4818

Daxton is the pickiest eater ever but this shake was so good even HE asked for seconds!

My body is tired and sore today so I didn’t accomplish a whole lot. I did manage to make dinner.  I used this recipe from PB Fingers to make a taco pasta skillet. Her recipe called for canned tomatoes but I didn’t have any so I used sun dried tomatoes and I added chopped avocado on top. Everyone in the house loved it and there was enough left over to serve for lunch tomorrow!

IMG_4820

I’m feeling guilty as I sit here at the computer because Kelly is taking care of the kids and cleaning the house. I better go help!! See you all tomorrow.

Show me some comment love!

