What I Ate On Race Day

I thought I would use this What I Ate Wednesday to show my readers everything I ate the day of my Half Marathon. I am always interested to see how people fuel for a race and whether or not they treat themselves to a celebration meal.

I mentioned this in my Race Recap but I started the day with 3/4 of a Apple Pie Larabar and a handful of pretzel sticks, mostly to get some salt! I brought a banana to eat before the race as well but Everett sat on it so it was VERY unappetizing!

I was pretty nervous so I didn’t eat as much as I would have like to but this did the trick.

During the race I had several cups of water, 1 cup of Gatorade and a vanilla GU at mile 7. I don’t love the taste of GU, in fact it was pretty hard to choke down but it did the trick and gave me a great burst of energy.

I had a chocolate Creamie at the finish line and 2 bottles of water!

Once we got back to the hotel I snacked on a few more pretzels before showering and heading out to get lunch.  By this point I was STARVING! We went to one of my favorite places, Chipotle. We don’t have one in Logan so I was looking forward to going and getting my burrito fix. I started with several chips with BIG heaps of guacamole. Chipotle has the BEST guacamole.

photo (15)

I also ate half of this massive burrito with white rice, black beans, chicken, mild salsa, cheese, and lettuce. I was fully expecting to eat the whole thing but I started filling up and had to stop.

photo (16)

A few hours later I ate an apple while I lounged on the couch and watched TV.

(source)

An hour after that I was hungry again and ate a cup of plain Greek yogurt with peanut butter granola and flax seeds.

IMG_4510

Dinner was a big salad with carrots and egg on top. Once I broke the yoke it served as the dressing!

IMG_4616

Once again I was hungry a few hours later so I did what any normal person would do. I went to Twizzle Berry, alone, and brought back a HUGE cup of chocolate frozen yogurt with a waffle bowl, Oreos, cookie dough, and peanut butter cups!

IMG_4536

My marathoning running Grandfather once told my dad and uncle, “Running does not give you a license to eat whatever you want!” They would often go out for a run only to come home and watch TV while eating an entire bag of chips. So while I did treat myself a special lunch and a big bowl of fro yo, I tried to keep to my 80/20 philosophy. 80 % healthy REAL foods, 20 % TREATS!  Although on this particular day I’d say it was more like 50/50. Winking smile

*A big thanks to Jen from Peas and Crayons for hosting WIAW!


What is the healthiest thing you ate yesterday?

10 thoughts on “What I Ate On Race Day

  1. I agree, Chipotle has some pretty stellar guac! On race days its totally acceptable to go 50/50…especially when it involves froyo like that 😉

Show me some comment love!

