What’s Next?

I had a couple splurge meals after my race (more on that later this week in my WIAW post) but today I’ve been back to my healthy eating ways. I got up early to head to a body sculpting class at the gym this morning. It was a great class that had my arms and legs begging for mercy by the end. I came home in time to take Dax to preschool and then make a nice breakfast for myself. I had 2 eggs, a slice of Ezekiel toast, and an apple with a dab of peanut butter. It was a breakfast full of dipping since I dipped my toast in the yolk and my apple in the PB!

IMG_4773

We are running out of food yet again so I used what I had in the fridge to whip together a Veggie Stir Fry Quinoa Salad. This bowl was packed with red and green bell pepper, mushrooms, onion, garlic, lemon, apple chicken sausage, and quinoa. It tasted great and all that fiber kept me full for almost 5 hours!

IMG_4776

For dinner tonight I made some seasoned black beans, cilantro lime brown rice, and baked chicken.  We put everything together in a bowl and sprinkled it with cheese!  It was delicious.

IMG_4779

I also roasted some broccoli we had in the fridge to round out the meal.

IMG_4777

This is my current new dessert obsession that is being devoured as I write this post!

IMG_4781

Graham Crackers with dark chocolate chunks!


my new workout plans

Life has returned to normal since my Half Marathon.  My stiff joints and sore muscles have slowly dissipated but I am left with a big hole in my mind.  I’m not sure where to go from here. I have really enjoyed running these last few months and I am not ready to move on. Running has become a big part of my life and I want that to continue. Training for the race has been incredible and crossing the finish line was just the icing on the cake. I am left with a desire to run faster, more efficiently, and maybe even farther.

IMG_4768

(Even though the race is over, I’m still proudly wearing my shirt!)

My problem is I don’t know what my next goal should be.  I have thought about training for a marathon but I’m not sure I’m ready for that yet. I have also thought about focusing on keeping up the training I’ve done for my half marathon and working on getting faster. Ideally, I would like to run another half in early 2013 and then work on running the full marathon next Fall.  I am going to start researching different programs and running techniques and start putting them to practice. I am ready to see what my body is capable of and I want to continue to push it to its limits.

For now I’m going to continue strength training 2-3 times a week as well as taking a few yoga classes per week.  Strength training is a crucial part of overall health and fitness and I plan on continuing to build my strength.  I think yoga has been crucial in injury prevention and has helped my running performance quite a bit. I have learned to keep my shoulders back and release tension in my body. I am also going to keep running 3-4 times a week and hopefully work on improving my speed.

I have been a bit lost these last few days trying to decide what to do next. In writing this post I have realized I want to keep racing and I am planning on finding a half marathon to look forward to early next year. I am excited and ready to get to work. I’ll be sure to keep you updated on the workouts I find and how I plan to run my next half even faster.

One thought on “What’s Next?

  1. I want to do a half early next year and then my plan is to run a full at the end of June. I just wrote out some goals to keep myself motivated, I’m hoping that helps me!

Show me some comment love!

