Oh What a Beautiful Morning!

Boy do I have a great breakfast recipe for you today! I felt like some warm comfort food and I had a little extra time this morning so I decided to make some steel cut oats. I almost always put berries and peanut butter in my oatmeal but we are fresh out of berries so I decided to make up a concoction that included apples. I have also found a way to cook steel cut oats a bit faster. I add the oats to the water and boil them together and then let it simmer covered instead of uncovered. This method only takes 10-15 minutes instead of 25-30.  Oh and if you’ve never tried steel cut oats, you must give them a whirl. They have a great nutty texture and add a bit of crunch to breakfast.

Apple Peanut Butter Steel Cut Oatmeal

IMG_4728

Yields: 1 serving

  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 large apple chopped
  • 1 tbsp. crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp. maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp almond milk

In a sauce pan bring water and oats to boil. Reduce heat and simmer covered until the water is absorbed about 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile combine the remaining ingredients in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on high for 90 seconds. Stir if the mixture does not create a thick sauce add a splash more almond milk. Microwave another 30 seconds. Stir again. Go ahead and have a taste!!  This stuff is to. die. for. Once the oats are finished cooking add the peanut butter sauce to the oats and combine. Make sure to lick every last ounce of the peanut butter sauce out of the bowl!  That stuff is way to good to let ANY  go to waste. Smile Your welcome.

*I usually make extra steel cut oats and keep them in the refrigerator for a few days. On day 2 add a bit of milk to them and microwave for 45 seconds.

I went for my last training run this morning before my big race. I did 3 slow and easy miles. I came home wanting more. My body felt great and I was ready to keep running. I guess I’ll just have to save my energy till Saturday!

The boys and I are headed out to go to one more yoga class so I can be nice and limber and stay injury free for the race. Ta Ta for now!

One thought on “Oh What a Beautiful Morning!

  1. This sounds delicious! I’m going to make it a point to try this Saturday morning. I love steel cut oats. I’m kind of stuck on adding pumpkin right now, so the apples will be a nice break from the norm. Sounds like good Fall comfort food! Yum!

Show me some comment love!

