Beet Pasta Sauce and WIAW

I am really excited to share my recent meals with you guys today because they have been SO GOOD!

Breakfast was this delicious wrap.

IMG_4690

I fried up two dippy eggs in some olive oil spray and made sure to use plenty of salt and pepper. The eggs were combined with spinach, laughing cow Swiss cheese, and baby greens then wrapped everything up in an Ezekiel tortilla.

My midmorning snack was an apple from my fully stocked fruit basket.

IMG_4681

For Lunch I had a whole wheat bagel with peanut butter and sliced banana.

IMG_4686

I also had a side salad with mixed baby greens and sesame ginger dressing.

IMG_4493

For my afternoon snack I had a double chocolate protein shake.

IMG_4628

Double Chocolate Protein Shake:

  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 scoop Jay Robb chocolate protein powder
  • 1 TBSP cocoa powder
  • 1 TBSP ground flax seeds
  • 1/3 of a frozen banana
  • 2 ice cubes

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Dinner was the star of the show!  Check out this beautiful pasta:

IMG_4696

Beet Sauce Chicken Pasta

  • 2 Chicken Breasts
  • 1 Can Chicken Broth
  • 1 Box Pasta of your choice (I use whole wheat)
  • 3 Beets
  • 3 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese plus more for topping
  • 2 Tbsp. Walnuts (or nut of your choice)
  • Pine Nuts for topping

In the morning, place the chicken and broth in the crock pot on low.  Cook for 6-8 hours.

Preheat oven to 425. Cut the stems off the beets and wash and scrub them. Place the beets, and garlic on a sheet of tin foil and drizzle with 1 tbsp. of the olive oil. Cover completely and roast in the oven until a fork goes into the beets easily. About an hour.

When the beets are done take them out and let them cool. Start cooking the pasta. Then chop the beets into small pieces. Place the beets, garlic, remaining olive oil, 2 tbsp. of chicken broth from the crock pot, vinegar, cheese, and walnuts in a food processor. Blend until smooth. Add more broth if needed.

Pour the beet sauce over the pasta and toss to combine. Top each plate of pasta with sliced chicken, cheese, and pine nuts.

*I ended up with a lot more sauce than I needed so I packed up the remainder and put it in the freezer for another time.

Side Note: I didn’t have any on hand but I read that beets pair really well with feta cheese. I might top with feta instead of parmesan next time I make this.

IMG_4693

I just ADORE the color it creates.  Kids get really excited about eating this dish. The Big One called it Pink Pasta!

This recipe may seem detailed and hard to make but I promise its super easy and the mess is minimal. Beets are in season right now and are SO good for you.  Go out and buy some and make this recipe.  You will love it.

A big thanks to Jenn from Peas and Crayons for hosting What I Ate Wednesday.


What do you think of beets? Are you willing to try some Beet Pasta?

4 thoughts on “Beet Pasta Sauce and WIAW

  1. You health nuts will eat cardboard if you think it’s good for you … and you’ll even say it tastes good. So I want to see pics of your boys eating that food … if they’ll eat it, then it really must be good! 🙂

Show me some comment love!

