Barbecue Chicken Pizza

Dinner was a good one tonight.  I made individual Bbq Chicken Pizzas on flat bread. These pizzas had awesome flavor and lots of color.  The best thing about these pizzas: they take less than 20 minutes to make!

I had my first day at work today. The restaurant is still under construction so they had us come in to help with  cleaning and to learn our way around the kitchen. I wasn’t sure how long I would be working this afternoon so I planned this quick and easy dinner. I got home at 6:00 and was eating by 6:15. I used this flat bread:

IMG_4704

Barbecue Chicken Pizza

IMG_4699

  • 1 slice flat bread
  • 3 tbsp. barbecue sauce
  • 2 oz. shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 3 oz. cooked shredded chicken
  • 1/4 red pepper, sliced
  • 1/4 cup black beans, rinsed
  • 2 tbsp. diced onions
  • 1 tbsp. cilantro, chopped

Turn on oven to 400. Place flatbread on cookie sheet and put in the oven as it heats. If you don’t have any precooked chicken, place a few chicken tenders in a pot of boiling water for 5 minutes.  Take out and shred. Rinse the beans and chop the veggies and cilantro. Flip the flatbread after 7 minutes or so. Cook another 3 minutes. Take the flatbread out and spread with bbq sauce and then top with cheese. Put the chicken and veggies on top of the cheese. Add cilantro last. Put in the oven again. Cook for 5-7 minutes until the cheese is melted. Enjoy!

IMG_4700

Here are the nutrition stats:

Calories: 426

Fat: 14

Carbohydrates: 35

Fiber: 14

Sugar: 3

Protein: 38

There has been a lot of running talk in the health and fitness blogosphere today. I especially loved reading about the experiences of those that ran in the Chicago Marathon on Sunday. It really inspires me to read about people who can push through the pain and run for 4+ hours without stopping. 26.2 miles is a LONG way to run.  So many of the race recaps I read talked about how amazing it feels to run a marathon. They said it feels good to challenge your body and push it to its limits. They made me think for a few split seconds that one day I could run a full marathon.  Maybe just maybe!

I am BEYOND excited for my half on Saturday. We are planning on getting a hotel near the start line and making a weekend out of it. We’ll spend a few hours at the race expo on Friday afternoon, and go to a carbohydrate filled dinner that evening. Kelly and the boys are going to come to cheer me on and hopefully catch me at the finish line Saturday morning!

website_header-NEW

I am also a bit nervous.  I have never run in an organized race. I don’t know what to expect. Where do I go when I get there? Its going to be cold that morning, do I just wear my running clothes and tough it out until we start running? Can I bring some sweats to wear, but what will I do with them when the race starts? What if I get lost on the course? Should I bring my own water or rely on the aid stations? Which group should I start out running with? What do I eat the day before? The morning of? There are a lot of unknowns but I’m sure I’ll figure it out when I get there. I am ready to put my training to good use and give it my all.  Lets see what this body is capable of. Maybe I could finish in under 2 hours…that would be incredible! 13.1 here I come!

5 thoughts on “Barbecue Chicken Pizza

  1. 1) Go to the porta-potty first! 🙂 2) Leave sweats with a loved one or just toss them away. You could use the bag check. 3) Doubtful that you will get lost in an organized road race. 4) Won’t need your own water in an organized race. 5) Don’t start too close to the race leaders unless you plan on winning. If there are corrals, start with your group. Start slow and pick up steam later. 6) Runner’s World has a good article this month on race day meals. The day before, don’t eat anything too crazy. 7) Relax and have fun!

  2. Pingback: Daxton’s First Trip to the Dentist | berries and barbells

Show me some comment love!

