Say Thank You to Your Body

A friend of mine recently posted an article on Facebook called The Mom Stays in the Picture. It was a fantastic article about a mother of 4 who had a baby 5 months ago.  She took her family to her niece’s sweet 16 birthday party feeling awkward and unkempt.

She was feeling self conscious about her post-baby body and was avoiding photos, not wanted to be documented forever in her current state. She recalls her 5 year old son asking her to join her in the photo booth.  She wanted to say no to him but after some thought, she realized her son did not care she was carrying a few extra pound or that she didn’t have time to blow out her hair that day. He wanted to take some pictures with the woman who gave him life. The woman who has read to him every night since he was born. The woman who taught him how to crack an egg into the cookie dough. The woman who cried with him when she dropped him off for his first day of preschool. His mother. To him, her worth had NOTHING to do with the way she looked.

This was a fantastic article and a wonderful reminder of all that my body does for me and my family. I have had two children and my body is not the same as it was before pregnancy, giving birth, and breastfeeding. I have wider hips, a smaller chest, and loose skin around my belly button. Do I wish some of these things were different? Of course!  If I could go back and change it, would I? NEVER. I adore my children.  My family is the most important thing in my life. Every stretch mark is a reminder of my sweet children and the beautiful family my husband and I created.

Everett Allred Birth 074

My body has literally GROWN 2 HUMANS. It has brought them into this world safely. And it has provided them nourishment for the first year of their lives. Amazing! Women’s bodies are truly spectacular. I can feel great about my body with all of its imperfections because I do my best to take care of it. I workout 5-6 days a week and I eat the most nutritious foods I have access to (most of the time!). Exercise and eating healthy are my way of saying, “Thank You” to my body. My body has never let me down and I am grateful for all the things it has accomplished.

I encourage all of you readers out there to appreciate your body for all the wonderful things it does for you. Treat your body with respect. Make the necessary diet and exercises changes. Say “Thank You” to your body everyday!

4 thoughts on “Say Thank You to Your Body

  1. such a great post and SO true. whether u are a mother or just not having a wonderful body moment, remembering the function of ur body rather than purely it’s aesthetics is quite powerful. and u are just adorable there!! 🙂 XOXO

Show me some comment love!

