Baby Workout and Pasta Skillet

The kids were so darn cute this morning. The Big One just rediscovered these tiger slippers and he has been wearing them everywhere. He cries when they fall off and he even wore them to bed!

IMG_4655

The Little One got a good workout this cup of cereal this morning. The workout went like this: fall down and let the cereal spill out all over the floor. Pick up all the cereal and put it back in the cup. Stand up and walk two laps around the house. Repeat 25 times.

IMG_4654

We went to yoga this morning and then picked up a few things at the grocery store.  We got all the fixings to make cupcakes for The Big One’s Birthday celebration at preschool tomorrow. By the time we got home it was almost nap time so I fixed the boys a quick lunch.  While they were eating I cooked a delicious lunch for myself.

Apple Chicken Sausage Pasta Skillet

  • 1 cup cooked pasta
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 orange bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 apple chicken sausage link, chopped
  • 1/4 cup frozen peas
  • 1/2 lime
  • parmesan cheese

I sautéed an onion, orange pepper, and garlic in olive oil.  I added some apple chicken sausage and cooked for a few more minutes. Then I added cooked whole wheat pasta, frozen peas and the juice from half a lime and let simmer, covered for about 10 minutes while I got the kids in bed. When I got back all the flavors had mixed together perfectly. I topped it with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese for a pretty decadent Thursday lunch.

IMG_4657

I enjoyed this dish while I watched the season premier of Raising Hope. I have to say I have been thoroughly enjoying all the Fall TV, it makes for a great lunch break!

3 thoughts on “Baby Workout and Pasta Skillet

  1. Brittany, just thought I should comment and say that I’m loving reading your blog! I have been really, really bad at eating healthy and cooking and I find your blog so motivating. Keep posting all that you eat and recipes to go along, I need all the help I can get! And maybe, someday, I will work out again…I can’t believe you are so disciplined!

    • Thanks Emily! I’m glad you are enjoying the blog. I found that once I set an exercise goal and really started working toward it, the healthy eating just followed. It’s hard to have the energy to workout when you eat crap all day! I wouldn’t worry about it for another month or so…you just ENJOY that new baby!! Breastfeeding burns more calories than working out anyway!!

  2. Pingback: Sunday’s Eats | berries and barbells

Show me some comment love!

