Twirly Straws are the Best

The calendar tells me it is Fall but the weather sure isn’t acting like it!  We have still had 80 degree temps every single day and I cant remember the last time it rained.  Not that I’m complaining. I love being able to run outside and lock the kids in the backyard when they’re driving me crazy! JK, I don’t actually do that Smile I’m hoping we will have an unseasonably warm winter and I won’t miss a single run outside due to weather! A girl can dream right?! I’m pretty sure Utah will not be that nice to me.

I have been enjoying lots of cold protein shakes lately.  Today’s variety had cocoa powder, pumpkin, and almond extract thanks to this recipe from Kristin at Stuftmama.

Yes, I used the twirly straw that came in my son’s birthday party goody bag!

IMG_4626

We are on a major grocery budget around here and are postponing shopping for as long as we can. Meaning, we have little to no food in the house. I used the scraps I had left in the fridge to make an egg scramble for lunch. It included 2 eggs, apple chicken sausage, onion, and green pepper. I sautéed the onion, green pepper, and sausage for a few minutes and then poured the eggs over the top of everything. It ended up being fabulous. 

IMG_4640

This little boy LOVES his Organic Whole milk!!!  Maybe that’s why our grocery bill is so high.

IMG_4631

The Big One had apple sauce and a turkey hot dog for lunch today. He seriously LOVES when I take pictures of his food!

IMG_4636

That’s all for now. I’m going to help Kelly put the kids to bed and then head out for a run before it gets dark! Enjoy your night.


Has anyone else had unseasonable warm weather?

What are your tips for saving money on groceries?

One thought on “Twirly Straws are the Best

  1. Your lunch looks fantastic!! Yummy!! 🙂
    I have a hard time staying in my grocery budget, and I’m just buying for 1!! I have found that if I wear holey clothes and don’t wear my makeup, the cashier will usually knock off at least 60 cents per item. Just kidding. 😉
    I have the most success staying in budget by making a menu. It saves me from a lot of impulse buys- even healthy food, if not in the menu, needs to stay on the shelf. I also buy and cook a lot in bulk and freeze a ton of portions for later.

Show me some comment love!

