Banana Muffins

For my workout today I went to a Power Body Sculpting class at my gym. It was a great workout that fatigued practically every muscle in my body and had my heart rate up the whole time. I know I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again: group classes are perfect on Monday mornings.

I have an awesome recipe for you today! We had some very brown bananas on the counter yesterday so I decided to try my hand at some Whole Grain Banana Muffins. The Little One will only eat muffins for breakfast so I make a batch or two of muffins every week.  These were an awesome breakfast.  I had two topped with some peanut butter and a side of raspberries.  These would also be a great pre run/ workout snack.

Whole Grain Banana Muffins

IMG_4613

Yields: 12-18 muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups oat flour
  • 1/2 whole rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 large bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup agave (or honey)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

*Place about 2 cups oats in a food processor and grind until the oats turn to a flour like consistency. This should make about 1 1/2 cups oat flour.

  1. Preheat Oven to 350 F.
  2. Grease muffin tin or fill with paper liners.
  3. In a large bowl combine oat flour, rolled oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
  4. In another bowl beat two eggs. Add mashed bananas, agave, oil, and yogurt. Beat well.
  5. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir with a wooden spoon until just combined.  DO NOT OVERMIX.
  6. Fill each muffin whole 3/4 full.
  7. Bake 15-20 minutes until toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_4615

They are moist and light but very hearty and chock full of fiber! These little babies are sure to keep me full for hours.

I still have tons of cleaning to do in my house after the big Birthday Party. Better get to it!


Do your kids (or you) have a favorite won’t-eat-anything-else breakfast?

What is your ideal Monday morning workout?

4 thoughts on “Banana Muffins

Show me some comment love!

