Almost There

I started my day off right with a 12 mile run. I am almost there, I can almost say I ran a half marathon.  This will be my last long run before my big Half Marathon on October 13! I usually do my long runs on Saturdays but I decided to get it done today because The Big One’s 3rd birthday party is tomorrow.  I don’t want to be stressed about planning the party and running so I decided to sneak it in early. 

The run went really well today.  I did 12.35 miles in 1:56.  I’m hoping I’ll be able to do my race in less than 2 hours but my main goal is to finish and have a good time.  About a quarter mile before I reached 10 miles I saw a man running ahead of me.  He was a big dude and was running fairly slow so I decided to try and catch him. He heard me coming and sped up but at this point I was determined to pass him. I gave it my all and I did end up passing him just before we run off in opposite directions. I am usually all alone on my runs so it was really fun to see someone I could compete with.  It got my adrenaline going and made the rest of the run fly by.

When I got home a did a 10 minute walk again and then came in and stretched.  My hamstrings felt really tight while I was walking so I did a lot of stretching followed by a few sun salutations. I feel much better, especially after my hot shower but I am still a bit stiff.

I followed my run with a glass of chocolate milk. I have never done this before but I hear it’s the perfect post run fuel.  It has just the right amount of carbohydrates and high quality protein to refuel exhausted muscles. I’m not sure yet how it will effect my muscles but it sure did taste good!

IMG_4538

After taking a long, hot shower and getting dressed I made myself a big bowl of oatmeal.  (No I did not end up buying 50 lbs. of oats! I did buy the biggest bag the store had though.) I topped my oatmeal with a huge spoonful of peanut butter, a splash of maple syrup, almond milk, and blueberries.

IMG_4540

Oh, I almost forgot.  I recently discovered the phenomenon that is running socks! They are awesome. I have significantly fewer callouses after wearing them for todays run. I’m officially converted and will never go back to cotton socks again.


Have you ever used chocolate milk for muscle recovery? How did it work?

What do you do for tight muscles after a long run?

Did you know there was a special sock made just for running? Do you wear them?

2 thoughts on “Almost There

  1. Yay for a great long run! I have a 6 miler on tap for tomorrow morning and I’m looking forward to it! 🙂
    Chocolate milk is AHHHHmazing post run! I love to refuel with chocolate milk!

Show me some comment love!

