Dinner and a Movie

We had an awesome time tonight. Texas Roadhouse was everything I hoped for and more.

IMG_4500

It is a tradition for my Mom to treat us to Texas Roadhouse whenever she comes to visit since she doesn’t live close to one. I have noticed that when it comes to restaurants we are creatures of habit.  We know what we like and we generally go to the same chain restaurants over and over. I have decided we need to branch out and start trying some of the local restaurants our city has to offer!

But back to our evening at Texas Roadhouse.  We decided to celebrate The Big One’s birthday a few weeks early so Grandma could watch him open the gifts she got him. The Big One got to hop up on the saddle and shout Yeehaw! with the whole restaurant in honor of turning 3.  He LOVED it.

IMG_4509

He was acting like a real live cowboy!

My favorite thing at Texas Roadhouse is without a doubt the buttery rolls with cinnamon sugar spread! They are fluffy and light and not too sweet, plus they bring them to the table piping hot out of the oven. They are to die for.

IMG_4503

After enjoying every last bite of my roll, course number 2 arrived in the form of a fresh salad.I had the house salad with vinaigrette dressing on the side. This salad comes with the works, hard boiled eggs, seasoned croutons, huge chunks of fresh tomato and shredded cheddar cheese. I finished the whole salad.

IMG_4504

Course number 3 was a half slab of slow roasted barbeque baby back ribs and mashed potatoes filled with sour cream, cheese, and bacon.  Not exactly the picture, perfect healthy meal, but boy did it taste amazing.  I am a firm believer in moderation in all things and am not against splurging every once in a while. The ribs stole the show and were perfectly sweet and had just the right amount of barbeque flavor and talk about tender!  These babies are so tender they literally fall right off the bone. YUM. 

IMG_4505

I finished off my meal with another roll smothered in butter for my dessert.  I seriously can’t get enough of those things.

IMG_4506

My favorite part of the meal was the company and good conversation. We had a strict no phones at the table rule which allowed us to talk and laugh and have a great time. Thanks to my mom for a great meal and awesome evening.

After dinner Grandma took The Big One on a date to see Finding Nemo 3D.  It turns out they were the only 2 people in the theater so we got a lot of text updates with pictures. The Big One came home with a huge smile (and a little leftover lollipop) on his face and told us all about his cool glasses and all the fish and sharks he saw.  I think it’s safe to say he had a blast with his Grandma.

photo (8)


Do you like to venture out and try new restaurants or do you tend to stick with places you know and love?

One thought on “Dinner and a Movie

Show me some comment love!

