A Little of This and That

We decided to be brave and take both boys to a sit down restaurant last night.  It had to be quick and the only way to make it through the whole dinner is if both children had food in their mouths AT ALL TIMES. We chose Chili’s because we knew they could have us in and out of there in a timely manner and they have awesome chips and salsa! The Big One and The Little One shared a hamburger with french fries, I had chicken fajitas, and Kelly had a steak with mashed potatoes. PicMonkey Collage

The chips and salsa definitely served their purpose and kept both boys occupied until the main course arrived. We ended up having a great time and enjoyed watching Utah State Football while we ate our dinner.  Maybe we will venture out to sit down restaurants more often!

IMG_4466IMG_4464

By the way, by about 3 PM yesterday I was feeling extremely sore.  In fact, I don’t think I have ever been so sore in my whole life.  I think it was a combination of Fridays High Intensity Circuit followed by my long run on Saturday. My rear end hurt so bad, I could barely sit down and I was waddling around like a woman who’s in her last trimester with triplets!  I haven’t been sore in a long time and I am happy to know that my workouts are actually doing something.  Even though it can be quite a nuisance, being sore is a sign of progress and I like that!

The Big One and I had a very productive morning. We made Healthy Pumpkin Muffins (we added a few chocolate chips this time), homemade peanut butter granola, Corn and Quinoa Salad with Chicken Sausage, and a big batch of brown rice for the week. We also cut up a pineapple and cantaloupe and cooked some chicken breast.

IMG_4476

I like to use Sunday mornings to prep my food for the week. I make sure all my fruits and veggies are cut up and ready to grab in a hurry and that I have a few things to snack on throughout the week. Spending a few hours in the kitchen on Sunday saves me a ton of time during the week and ensures that my family and I have fresh, healthy foods to eat.  There is no reason to stop by the drive-through if I can have dinner ready in 5 minutes by adding a few veggies to precooked chicken and brown rice.

Dinner tonight was a recipe that has been in my family for years.  We call it Ann’s Frito Casserole, although I have NO idea who Ann is!!  I usually make this recipe on the stove but since I was already making a mess in the kitchen this morning I decided to see if I could make it in the crock pot. Success!

IMG_4481

Ann’s Frito Casserole

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 1/4 cup water
  • 1 8 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1 6 oz. can tomato paste
  • 3 tsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cup rice

Brown meat with onion and drain. Combine all ingredients in the crock pot and stir. Cook on low for 6 hours.

Top with:

  • Fritos
  • Cheese
  • Green Onion
  • Olives (I despise olives so they are not pictured, but Kelly and the boys ate them)
  • Avocado
  • Sour Cream (we didn’t have any on hand but this is a really nice addition!)

When was the last time you felt REALLY sore and what kind of workout caused it?

Do you have any easy family recipes to share?

One thought on “A Little of This and That

  1. i luv Chili!! gotta say though my favorite thing on the menu is the chocolate molten lava cake…i’d skip the actual real food if given the choice…lol.
    ur family is WAY too cute and i luv that they help with the cooking! i stink SO bad in the kitchen, so i’m sorry i have no recipes to share unless it comes in the way of microwaving a frozen dish. 😉 i’m with u, there is a sick sense of pride in sore muscles…u made that body work! 🙂

Show me some comment love!

