Long Run Saturday

I woke up really early this morning to get my long run in.  Kelly had a meeting for school at 9:30 AM so I had to be back in time for him to make it to his meeting. I set my alarm for 6:30, knowing I wouldn’t actually get up until 6:40.  I thought that would leave me a few minutes to grab a banana, get dressed and get all my gear together and be out the door by 7.  I ended up having a phone malfunction just as I was getting ready to leave. My phone is a crucial part of my runs.  I don’t have a Garmin, so not only do I use it for music & podcasts, I use the map my run app to track my time and distance.  I have grown quite fond of the lady that pops up in my ear and tells me how long I’ve been running and how far I’ve gone.  I don’t map out my runs beforehand so it was crucial for me to have my phone to know when I should turn around.

I tried to fix my phone for a few minutes but it was a lost cause. I finally went into the bedroom to wake Kelly up and tell him I would be using his phone.  Luckily it only took me a few minutes to download my app and a few podcasts and I started my 11 mile run by 7:20.

IMG_4457

(This photo has nothing to do with my run, but aren’t my boys cute?!?!)

I’ve had some trouble with my knees on my long runs for the past few weeks.  My wise big brother recommended doing a warm-up mile or two at a super slow pace.  I decided to give it a try so my first mile and a half took me 16 minutes.  Then I picked up the pace to my usual 9:20 minutes/mile. This also helped me relax and get rid of my jitters and frustrations from the mornings events. I was chugging along quite well alternating sips of water and cytomax and the first 8 miles were uneventful. At mile 8 my stomach started to hurt. I tried to ignore it and figured it would go away in a few minutes. After about 5 minutes it was getting worse and I had to slow down quite a bit. I kept up a very slow jog and finally the pain started to subside and I was able to finish the rest of my run strong.

I think my stomach issues had to deal with the fact that I chugged a lot of water all at once.  I had just tackled a pretty nasty hill when I came upon a crosswalk.  I usually try to jog in place at lights but I was super winded so I stopped to wait for the light and took the opportunity to drink a TON of water. It was about 10 minutes after this my stomach started giving me trouble.  So note to self; don’t chug water, only sip.

The other thing I did differently was at the end of my run. I usually run right up to my house and go in and stretch right away.  Today once I reached 11 miles I walked around the neighborhood for 10 minutes before going home to stretch. This seemed to help my joints relax and stretch back out after running for so long. My knees and hips were not nearly as sore today as they were last Saturday.  Yay!

IMG_4454

(Again, not a relevant photo but every time I take pictures of my food, The Big One says, “Take a picture of my food too Mommy!”)

I got home by 9:10 just in time for Kelly to make it to his meeting.  I stretched, got my kids dressed, made a quick breakfast of laughing cow cheese on an English muffin with two eggs and a side of grapes. I decided I wanted to try to make it to the 10 AM yoga class at my gym, so I rushed my kids to the car and ate my breakfast on the road.  We made it to the gym in plenty of time and I was even able to relax for a few minutes before yoga started. Yoga was great and I really appreciated the full body stretch. Not to mention the last pose, what is not to love about ending a workout lying flat on your back in a nearly comatose state? It was awesome.

IMG_4455

By the time we got home it was already time for lunch. I had a big bowl of Greek yogurt with cut up strawberries and granola and a slice of leftover pizza from last night. Kelly got home in time to help put the boys down for naps and we took the opportunity to watch one of our TV shows follow by a nap for me!

IMG_4463

I do have to say it has been a fantastic day.  I love Saturdays. Now it’s off the the Apple store to see what we can do about my broken phone.  Maybe it’s a lost cause and I’ll come home with a brand new iPhone 5. Yeah right!!!


What is your favorite fitness app?

Do you ever eat in front of the TV?

5 thoughts on “Long Run Saturday

  1. I love reading your blog Britty! I just had another baby 3 months ago and am miserably out of shape and at my heaviest ever. You are just the inspiration I needed to get my butt moving. I am so impressed with what you’re doing, you look AMAZING. I just started doing couch to 5k this week and am dying lol Thanks for sharing your story and tips. I love seeing pictures of your cute little family, miss you girl!

    • It is SO good to hear from you Regan!!! I’m glad you are enjoying the blog. Congrats on the new baby. It takes 9 months to gain all the baby weight so give yourself 9 months to lose it too. Way to go starting couch to 5K. Its a great program. Stick with it, the first two weeks suck but it gets better after that. Running is one of the best ways to lose weight. I LOVE it. I miss you tons!!!!

  2. Just dropping by your blog- love your name!! I’m addicted to Barbells and Berries myself! 🙂

    My favorite fitness app is MyFitnessPal! it makes monitoring my carb/fat/protein ratios a breeze!! It’s awesome. I also love my Runtastic app for tracking my physical activities.

Show me some comment love!

