To Be An Example For My Family

I can name a hundred reasons why I workout and why it’s an important part of my life but tonight I’d like to talk about just one. I want to set a good example for my family, especially for my young, moldable children. I read in Jillian Michael’s book Master Your Metabolism that one of the top factors affecting childhood obesity is the mothers weight and overall health. If mom is overweight, her kids are more likely to be overweight as well.  On the flip side, if mom is active and healthy, her kids are more likely to be active and healthy. Kids watch their parents and want to be just like them.  We have to teach by example and not just TELL our kids to be healthy but actually BE healthy ourselves.

181973641163022562_tf2gfDZN_f

(source)

Tonight before bed The Big One started jumping around the living room saying, “Look Mommy, I’m doing jumping jacks. now look Mommy I’m doing squats!” He was so proud of himself and then he said, “I’m a working out boy, just like you Mommy!” He doesn’t quite get that Mommy is not a boy, but we’ll save that talk for another day.  The point is, he sees me going to the gym and lacing up my running shoes on Saturday mornings to head out for my long run. He wants to emulate me.  He is my biggest fan and my biggest motivation to live a healthy lifestyle. I want my kids to grow up playing team sports and making healthy choices.  I also want to be around to see my great-grandchildren.  The best way I know how to do that is to eat healthy and stay active.


What motivates you to eat healthy and stay active?

Show me some comment love!

