Choosing a Gym

I got up at 6 this morning to get my workout done early. It was intense. My heart rate was up the entire time, I even had to take a few extra 15 sec. breaks because I thought my heart was literally going to come beating out of my chest.  That’s my kind of workout.  Stay tuned this afternoon and I’ll give you the details. You will love it. Or hate it if your not ready for a super tough workout!

photo (7)

When I got home from the gym I made a quick protein shake and a slice of toast with almond butter, sliced banana and a drizzle of honey.  I ate/drank while I got the boys’ breakfast and then got them dressed and ready for the day. A few bites here and a few bites there. It’s the only way I get to eat in the morning.

IMG_4394

I want to talk this morning about choosing a gym.  I’ll start by saying I prefer to workout at a gym vs. my home.  My home is quite small and I just don’t have room for big exercise equipment.  I have too many distractions at home that keep me from getting in a quality workout.  Plus, I find the gym to be extremely motivating.  When I see others working hard it makes me want to work harder.  The competitive side of me comes out and makes me want to run faster than the person next to me or see if I can get sweatier than they are! For me, the gym is where its at.

When we moved to Logan, Utah a year ago I went gym shopping.  We have 4 different gyms to choose from: Gold’s Gym, Planet Fitness, Anytime Fitness, and a locally owned gym called Sports Academy. I went to all of them. I wanted to make sure the gym I chose had all the features I wanted and that I got the best deal. Each gym had different features that I liked. 

  • Gold’s Gym is the closest to my home and has an MMA program which is something I would like to try. Their daycare seemed nice but was going to cost $3 per child every time I worked out. Gold’s gym is $40/month with a 1 year contract.
  • Planet Fitness is 6 minutes away from my house.  It’s pretty basic as far as equipment, no group classes, and doesn’t have daycare but it is only $10 a month and there is no contract.
  • Anytime fitness is 11 minutes from my house and the cost is in-between Gold’s and Planet Fitness.  It seems nice but the daycare hours weren’t great and the group class schedule wasn’t superb either.
  • Sports Academy is also about 11 minutes from my house.  The Sports Academy is massive. They have 3 different group class rooms with classes going all day long. They have an entire yoga program with its own room and schedule. The daycare area is huge and only cost $0.50/hr. per child and they are open all day. They have 3 pools, an outdoor hot tub and a hot tub, sauna, and steam room in the locker room. They charge $20 biweekly and you must sign a 1 year contract.  So most months it costs $40 but 2 months out of the year it costs $60.

I ultimately chose The Sports Academy even though it is the furthest from my house and has the most expensive monthly dues. It actually ended up being cheaper when I factored in the daycare cost.  I also love that there are 15 yoga classes a week to choose from and over 100 other group classes. 

The take home from this is when you choose a gym, do your research make sure you know all the costs, ask for a group class schedule and weigh all your options before making your final decision.


Do you workout at a gym or at home?

What is the most important thing for you when choosing a gym?

Show me some comment love!

