How I Broke Up With Diet Coke

I have been a Diet Coke addict for nearly 15 years and recently broke the habit.  I’m going to share with you my reasons for cutting it out and tell you how I did it. But first, let me share my lunch recipe with you.

Chicken Sausage Pasta Salad

  • 6 oz. whole wheat elbow pasta
  • 1 chicken sausage, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/2 an onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1/2 an avocado, diced

Cook pasta according to package instructions.  Meanwhile heat a large skillet with olive oil. Sautee onion, garlic, and sausage 3-4 minutes or until onion is tender. Add tomatoes and cook another 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat.  Add pasta and toss to coat. Stir in avocado. Serve.

IMG_4344

I had mine with a side salad and it totally hit the spot. YUM!

I grew up drinking Diet Coke.  In fact, as a toddler I was very attached to my mother and when she left I became inconsolably sad.  My dad would use Diet Coke to calm me down.  He says if I was drinking, I wasn’t crying and that was the only thing that made me stop!

By the time I was 11 or 12, I was having at least 1 can of Diet Coke a day. Then once High School and college came I moved on to 44 oz. fountain drinks.  At restaurants I always ordered a soda and asked for at least 2 or 3 refills. For me, Diet coke was like a bad-for-you-boyfriend.  I knew I should break it off and every once in a while I would try. But, something would always bring me back to it. I justified that my soda consumption wasn’t THAT bad because it was “calorie free” and wouldn’t make me fat. Or so I thought.

source

It wasn’t until The Big One started asking for sips of my soda that I began to wonder what affects my Diet Coke consumption was taking on my body. If I wouldn’t give Diet Coke to my child, why would I allow myself to have it? I started to do some research and found out that the aspartame and chemicals in my beloved diet soda causes headaches and weight gain, and may possibly increase a person’s risk of getting cancer. The possible risk of getting cancer was enough to deter me.  And now that I think about it, I did have a lot more headaches when I was drinking Diet Coke.

About 3 months ago I decided to quit cold turkey.  Since then I took one sip of Diet Coke at my in-laws house in a moment of desperation and pure weakness.  To my surprise, it didn’t even taste good and it certainly didn’t quench my extreme thirst. I now have more energy and clearer skin and I don’t crave soda anymore. My decision to break up with Diet Coke once and for all has been a positive one all around!


Are you or have you ever been a soda drinker?

Do you blame your parents for any of your bad habits?

2 thoughts on “How I Broke Up With Diet Coke

  1. WHAT!?!?! you just like that you are done? that is amazing! Congrats! I am glad that you are happier and feel good about it all. 😀

Show me some comment love!

