10 Miles

Since starting my half marathon training, I have reserved Saturday mornings for my long run.  This week I had 10 miles on the books. Done and done! My run was great this morning.  I was excited to go but once my feet hit the pavement I was a bit sluggish. I turned on my Alison Rosen is Your New Best Friend podcast and zoned out and by mile 3, I was feeling great. I ran by some gorgeous mountains and really enjoyed my time outside in the fresh air. There is nothing better than beautiful scenery, a nice cool morning and zoning out on a slow, easy run.  I LOVE IT!

 10 mile run

My knees started to bother me around mile 7 but it was nothing excruciating so I kept on trucking. I did a long stretching session when I got home, then made a double chocolate protein drink and sat down on the couch to ice those sore knees.

photo (5)

I should probably invest in some real ice packs but for now the peas and corn work well!

Double Chocolate Protein Shake:

  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 scoop Jay Robb chocolate protein powder
  • 1 TBSP cocoa powder
  • 1 TBSP ground flax seeds
  • 1/3 of a frozen banana
  • 2 ice cubes

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

This mornings run made me really excited for my race. If I can do 10 miles by myself at 7 in the morning, I know I can do 13.1 with the adrenaline of the race and crowds.  I can’t wait to put all this training to good use.  I am so proud of myself for setting a goal, making a plan for how to achieve that goal and actually FOLLOWING THROUGH! For me the hard part is the follow through.  I can set goals I would like to achieve all day long but actually going out there and doing it is a completely different thing.  All I can say is: it feels dang good! 

 

Question:

What is one goal you are working on right now?

Show me some comment love!

