Trail Run

I absolutely prefer to get my workouts done early.  Most of the time I get out of bed and head out for a run or to the gym.  As I said earlier, this morning I was being lazy and slept in and therefore, I missed my scheduled 4 mile run. This evening, I decided to take the family to the canyon and do my 4 miles on the trail! The trail is mostly shaded so I figured it would be cooler than running in my neighborhood…and MUCH more scenic. Daddy and the boys played in the dirt and rocks while I ran.  I have never run on a hiking trail before and let me tell you, it is tough.  Obviously, the first half of my run was completely uphill. I was running uber slow but was determined not to walk.  I made it up 2 miles and was very excited when I got to turn around and run down. I enjoyed my surroundings much more on the way back. Smile  It was gorgeous and an awesome workout. 

IMG_1665

Dinner tonight was the best one I’ve had in a long time because I didn’t have to make it.  When we got home from running in the canyon Kelly offered to make dinner while I showered with The Little One!  He very rarely cooks and he only knows how to make two things but I was more than grateful for the break. As soon as I got out of the shower I knew he chose to make tacos because they smelled amazing. I added a side of green beans and grapes to mine. They tasted great after my hard workout.

IMG_1666

Question:

Does your significant other cook?

Do you prefer running on pavement or dirt?

Show me some comment love!

