Tin Foil Dinners

Tonight we decided to go to the lake and cook our dinner over the campfire.  I made tin foil dinners that included chicken, red potatoes, carrots, green beans, yellow peppers, onions, and corn.  I drizzled everything with some barbecue sauce and wrapped it tightly in heavy-duty foil. We placed our dinners on a grill right in the middle of the flames. They cooked for about 20 minutes and were sufficiently charred!  I would recommend flipping them after 10 minutes because the chicken on the bottom of the foil was a bit too done.

IMG_1677

IMG_1681

Sorry about the poor photo quality.  My SLR is in the shop for repairs and my point and shoot is about 10 years old.  I probably would have been better off with my iPhone!

Kelly and I sat down at the picnic table and enjoyed our dinners in peace while the boys ran around getting themselves good and dirty.

IMG_1678

Now on to the BEST part of making a campfire. S’MORES! We made classic S’MORES with Hershey’s milk chocolate, large Jet Puffed Marshmallows, and Honey Maid Graham Crackers. I was patient and made sure my marshmallow was perfectly browned, while Kelly and The Big One set theirs on fire.  Kelly claims to like his better that way. BAH!  They are so much better browned…NOT BURNT. We also roasted a few Starburst.  If you have never tried this you are missing out. Put them over the fire until they start dripping.  Then let them cool for about 10 minutes.  They will be crispy on the outside and gooey and warm on the inside.  Delicious!

IMG_1691

We ended the night by walking down to the lake and letting the boys throw rocks in the water. The kids had an awesome time.  I don’t know any little boys who wouldn’t have a good time with dirt, fire, sticks, rocks, water, and candy! Mine were no exception.

IMG_1697

Question:

How do you roast your marshmallows?

Show me some comment love!

