It’s Football Season and a Pumpkin Recipe

Fall is quite possibly my favorite season of the year.  I love to see the leaves change colors, another excuse to bake with pumpkin, scarves and boots AND the start of football season!

My husband is a die-hard San Diego Chargers fan and last night was their season opening game against the Oakland Raiders. We were so excited to put the kids to bed and sit down together to watch the game with our chips and guacamole. Hubby enjoyed his guac with traditional tortilla chips while I decided to bake my own, healthier version. Simply cut up an Ezekiel tortilla, spray it with a little olive oil and salt and bake at 450*F for 5-7 min. Perfectly crunchy and awesome for dipping.

2012-09-10 08.08.23

We watched the first half of the game together until it got too late for me and I decided to call it a night. At half time the Chargers were up by 4 and I was happy to hear this morning they managed to beat those heathen Raiders!

2012-09-10 08.30.01

This photo took us about 17 tries with the self timer…our heads are cut off but its good enough!

Lunch was awesome today. An egg salad sandwich made with plain Greek yogurt instead of Mayo and a big salad sprinkled with almonds and pistachios with Sesame Ginger dressing. Totally hit the spot.

2012-09-10 00.36.59

Since I’m so excited about the beginning of Fall I thought I would share my awesome Pumpkin Muffin recipe. It’s 98% healthy and 100% delicious! Even my picky kids will eat them.

2012-09-08 21.30.05

Healthy Pumpkin Muffins

Yields: 12 muffins

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. cloves
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 cup hot water
  1. Preheat oven to 325*F
  2. In a large bowl beat oil, applesauce, and honey
  3. Add eggs, mix well
  4. Stir in pumpkin and vanilla, then flour, salt and spices
  5. Add baking soda to hot water, stir, then add to batter
  6. Pour into greased muffin tin or cupcake liners
  7. Bake 20-25 minutes until toothpick in center comes out clean

pumpkin muffins collage

What are your favorite things about Fall?

Am I the only one who can never seem to get it right with my camera self timer?

Do you have an awesome pumpkin recipe? SHARE!

2 thoughts on “It’s Football Season and a Pumpkin Recipe

  1. Pingback: Attitude | berries and barbells

  2. Pingback: Saturday Recap | berries and barbells

Show me some comment love!

