Our Big Adventure

I started my day off right yesterday with a slow and easy 4 mile run outside.  I went just as the sun was coming up and it was magnificent. I sure do love getting my workouts done first thing in the morning!

I was feeling adventurous so before heading out to pick Dax up from preschool I packed lunches for the boys. I used to be so much better about taking my kids to explore exciting places. Lately, if we go anywhere, it involves the grocery store, Walmart, or the gym.  I was planning on taking them to the park for a picnic lunch but as soon as I stepped outside I realized it was too cold. We did the next best thing and headed to the library. There is a big long hallway with a sitting area before the entrance to our library so this is where the boys ate their lunches.

photo (36)

Once they finished eating we headed in and Dax made a B-line for the computers. The Logan library has a bunch of computers in the kids area with educational games on them. Dax played a Sesame Street game that is supposed to help him learn how to sound out words.

photo (37)

While Dax played on the computer Everett and I checked out some of the Holiday books.  We were lucky enough to find “The Night Before Christmas” and “How the Grinch Stole Christmas.” Once we finished perusing the entire children’s book section, we headed over to the reading area.

photo (38)

After spending at least an hour in the library we headed home for naps. I was hoping they would be super tired from our “big afternoon adventure” and take extra long naps. That didn’t happen. I had just enough time to make lunch and eat it before they decided it was time to come out and play again!

IMG_5136

I made some sautéed some chicken, bell pepper, and onion in low fat sesame ginger dressing. I also baked a few corn tortillas that were used to scoop up that big heap of guacamole. It was definitely a random lunch but it tasted delicious!

photo (39)

I had to go to a quick meeting for work last night but we promised the kids we could decorate the Christmas tree. Kelly got home a few minutes early so we could spend a half hour decorating before I had to leave. The boys had an awesome time and the bottom 1/8 of our tree is FILLED with ornaments. Smile We did a bit a rearranging after they went to bed. We did get to finish decorating so I will post a photo of the whole tree once I add the finishing touches!


What is the best thing you did yesterday?

Do you ever use your local library?

-I use ours occasionally, but feel like I should utilize it more! Who doesn’t like free books and movies?

4 thoughts on “Our Big Adventure

  1. Dax looks like such a big boy sitting at the computer. Sounds like it was a fun adventure. I can’t wait to see your tree.

  2. Hey Brit, Do you have a method to baking your corn tortillas for chips? I would love to know how you do it. It sounds so good with guacamole. I take lizzy on a weekly basis to the library because they have a discovery time here where they read a couple books, sing songs, play with instruments, etc. Its a lot of fun for her. We usually play around in the kids area after and I let her check out some sort of activity, books and a movie. We LOVE the library!!

    • Erin your library sounds great!
      As far as the chips go. I usually cut them up and spread them out on a cookie sheet greased with a bit of olive oil spray. I spray the tops with a little more olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Bake in a 450* oven for about 10 minutes (depending on how big you made the chips). Watch them closely because they burn quickly.
      You can do this with corn or whole wheat tortillas and it is MUCH healthier than regular fried chips!! Let me know if you try them.

Show me some comment love!

