A Day in the Life

As you know I’ve been following Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer from bodybuilding.com. The program is completely free and I’ve loved it so far.  I’m only on day three but I can tell my body is appreciating all the healthy foods I’ve been feeding it. After indulging over the long weekend I’m really happy to be back to more nutritious foods. The average woman gains 3-5 pounds between Thanksgiving and New Years. I’m bound and determined NOT to be that women.  Hop on the bandwagon with me and you don’t have to be her either.

Before I get to my usual What I Ate Wednesday I want to share my breakfast recipe with you. I found it on bodybuilding.com and it was super scrumptious. Everyone in my family gave these pancakes great reviews.

Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

From www.Bodybuilding.com

Calories: 64
Fat: 1.3 grams
Carbs: 9.5 grams
Protein: 3.5 grams
Sugar: 0 grams

Ingredients
Directions
  1. Preheat griddle to medium heat.
  2. Mix oat flour, Splenda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg in a bowl.
  3. Wisk egg whites and pumpkin. Mix in Almond Breeze (I also added 1 tsp. vanilla here).
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix together.
  5. Spray griddle with non-stick butter spray.
  6. Scoop batter with a 1/4 cup measuring cup onto griddle. Cook 3-5 minutes on a side.

Makes 16 pancakes.

For today’s What I Ate Wednesday I am going to give you a glimpse into my day-to-day life. This is from yesterday. Here it goes:

 

We woke up and Dax helped me make some pancakes and eggs for our breakfast.

8 AM Breakfast:

photo (35)

2 pumpkin pancakes with almond butter and 5 egg whites cooked with salsa.

After breakfast we kissed Daddy goodbye and I realized I only had 10 minutes to get myself and my two kids dressed and out the door to head to the gym. I only reserved a spot for my kids from 9-10 and I didn’t want to be late and cut into my workout time. I managed to get everyone ready but didn’t realize Everett was missing shoes until I had already left the house. Luckily my diaper bag is a bottomless pit and I just so happened to have an extra pair of shoes in there!

I only got 10 minutes into my workout when a worker found me and let me know Everett needed a diaper change. :-/ I was in my own little world so she had to tap me on the shoulder and wave her arms in my face to get my attention! I was just starting to get into my groove so it was a bummer to have to stop. Being a mom is a 24/7 job and kids don’t always pick the best times to need something. Such is life! After finished up at the gym, we headed home for a snack.

10:30 AM Snack:

photo (32)

Chocolate protein shake made with 1 cup almond milk, 1 scoop whey protein, 1tbsp. cocoa powder, 1/2 banana, and ice.

After snack the boys played while I got ready, blogged, and responded to emails. After reading a few books and doing 5 million puzzles with my kids it was 12:00 and time to feed them lunch. I made them PB&J on whole wheat bread with a side of applesauce. Everett decided he didn’t want his sandwich and was begging me for cheese. He is just beginning to talk so when he pointed to the fridge and said, “chsssss” I couldn’t resist.

IMG_5128

What can I say, the boy REALLY loves his cheese.

I started prepping my lunch while the kids were eating. They both went down for naps at 1. This is mommy time and I enjoyed my lunch while listening to Christmas music.

1:15 PM Lunch:

IMG_5118

Taco salad with spring mix lettuce, chicken, salsa, guacamole, homemade baked tortilla strips, and a squeeze of lime.

After lunch I relaxed for a few minutes before heading into the kitchen to clean. I was in such a rush to get to the gym in the morning that I hadn’t even cleaned up breakfast. Needless to say, it was a really big mess. The boys both woke up around 2:30 and had snacks. We ready more books, did more puzzles, watched Mickey Mouse, and played with endless amounts of cars, trucks, and trains. I also made some pumpkin protein bars while Mickey Mouse was on.

4:45 PM Snack:

IMG_5122

An apple and two Pumpkin Protein Bars (not pictured).

Daddy surprised us by getting home early so we could go pick out our Christmas tree. We found a great tree and got it all set up on our car when we realized we didn’t have a tree stand. The tree lot didn’t sell them so we headed to Walmart. What do you know? Walmart doesn’t have tree stands either. But since we were there anyway we picked up some goldfish crackers, teddy grahams, and beef jerky. All my boys were getting hungry (Kelly included)so they ate some really nutritious??? snacks. We drove to the other side of town to go to Home Depot where we finally found a tree stand. Success!

By the time we got home and set up the tree it was time for the boys to go to bed. They were a bit sad we didn’t get to decorate it so we let them put the star on the top!

IMG_5129

After PJ’s, brushing teeth, reading stories, singing songs, and prayers this kids were in bed and it was time for me to EAT. I had planned on making chicken and sweet potatoes but since everyone else already ate I nixed the idea. I didn’t feel like cooking for just 1 person.

8 PM Dinner:

IMG_5133

I don’t like to eat too much deli meat because of the preservatives and high sodium but I made an exception tonight. I had 6 oz. deli turkey, 2 celery stalks, and a slice of Ezekiel toast with peanut butter and sugar free jelly.

I ate dinner while watching an episode of Sister Wives. Why is that show so addicting? It is just so fascinating to see how a polygamist family lives.


What is the best thing you’ve had for breakfast lately?

Are you usually alert during your workouts or do you tend to zone out?

-I almost always zone out but I try to be more aware during my outdoor runs. Safety first!

Have you put up Holiday decorations yet?

6 thoughts on “A Day in the Life

  1. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure
    of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got
    to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it
    better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  2. Hi, simply became mindful of your blog post by means of The search engines, and discovered it is really useful. I shall be mindful pertaining to belgium’s capital. I will get pleasure from if you continue that later on. A number of other persons may be taken advantage of ones producing. Regards!

  3. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark our blog and check again here regularly.
    I am quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

Show me some comment love!

